On ‘Gone Girl’

Like so many others before me, I just finished reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Actually, let me rephrase that, I just demolished Gone Girl. I am not exaggerating when I say I finished this book in a day. Today in fact. And not many books manage to get me so hooked that I can’t put them down, The Fault In Our Stars being the last 24-hour read before this one (Okay? Okay).

Anyway, I bought the paperback a while ago and had it on my ‘To Read’ list for far longer than I should have. And yes, I did only decide to actually pick it up because the film version came out. And yes, I have had to run out of conversations, ears blocked and humming to avoid hearing any spoilers.

So I picked it up. And I didn’t put it back down until I was on the last page.

I’m not going to reveal any spoilers here (you can stop humming now) but can we all just take a moment, for those of us still reeling from those final pages to…I don’t know…reel from those final pages.

I mean, break my heart Gillian you could’ve given us something! Something! Anything! Gah!

I’m also going to admit it took me about 300 pages into the book to realize that the name ‘Go’ wasn’t an odd way of spelling ‘Joe’, but was actually short for Margo and was pronounced go as in stop. A frustrating little nickname that one. But never mind that, it really is the ending that has got everyone divided. It seems you either loved it or like me, was eerily bothered by it.

Anyone? Anyone else seeing where I’m coming from here?

Hmmm…it definitely got me thinking either way.

One thought on “On ‘Gone Girl’

  1. I also just demolished this book. I totally agree about the ending. I felt so let down after it was such a great book. And then the ending. I’ve never had an ending that made me want to cry a little – not from emotion about the emotions in the book. I think I was just sooo mad at the ending. Gosh darn it – but the ending.

Join the Conversation!