Write and Yesterday

Image

Lets just let this following statement sink in for a moment….

“Today is yesterdays tomorrow”

Yep read it again.

Maybe one more time.

Got it?

No?

Me neither. 

Now if that statement doesn’t confuse you even for a second, then I don’t know what will.  I first heard this many years ago and I only seem to remember it on those nights where I cannot for the life of me fall asleep. Those nights where your mind just has to pluck the most random and controversial statement it could conjure up just to keep you thinking and stop you dozing off. This of course inevitably sends your mind circling in on itself, cannibalising the trivialities of the past day into the most important seconds of your life. 

Some people at these times might stress about work, deadlines, climate change, changing the world, but not me. Oh no not me. I have to try and wrap my brain around “today is yesterdays tomorrow” for the millionth time. Apparently that’s just how my mind works at 1:30am. I don’t know. 

But when you think about it, some of the most famous inventors, creators, and artists of all time completed their best work at these times, actively choosing to channel their ticking mind into something productive. Maybe the next time I can’t sleep I should write a new post. Jot down some ideas even. Although I am worried that the only thing I could get down would be (yep you guessed it) “today is yesterdays tomorrow”. 

And you know after a moment or two I can really think about the sentence and understand it. I get it. But I can’t explain it to someone else, and I don’t think anyone else can either. I did Google an explanation for the sentence to insert here and this is what I got – 

“If today was Tuesday, tomorrow would be Wednesday. Today is not Tuesday, today is Wednesday, and yesterday was Tuesday. Therefore, today is yesterdays tomorrow”

No.

Nope.

No way.

Goodbye.

One thought on “Write and Yesterday

  1. I understand the sentence but I think the meaning is metaphorical. Today is yesterdays tomorrow could mean that instead of putting things off until “tomorrow” do it today because today is tomorrow. It’s a very tricky way to say don’t procrastinate.

Join the Conversation!