My ‘Aha Moment’

Image

We all know those moments in life where you are just going about your own business, not really too focused on anything, and suddenly you realise something. Something that seems like such a common truth to you, and you are bizarrely surprised you hadn’t realised this thing before. Most of the time it’s such a sudden realisation that you are stopped in your tracks, just pondering that thought for a moment. 

The dictionary calls this an ‘epiphany’

Oprah calls this an ‘Aha Moment’

Now, I apologise to the dictionary but I’m going to have to stick with the Oprah definition of this sensation. Mainly, well, because it’s Oprah (I’ve decided that needs no further explanation). 

Most of the time these ‘Aha Moments’ are realising something very spiritual, an ‘awakening’ as Oprah describes it. A sense of getting in touch with your soul, and realising something about yourself that you already knew deep down but can now accept whole-heartedly.

I had one of these moments recently. My ‘Aha Moment’ struck me like a ton of bricks too. I was just sitting around, not doing much, and it just hit me. 

I love 80’s music.

Looking back on it now, I probably could’ve realised this a little earlier (as I sit looking at the ‘Grease’ record hanging on the wall).

 Sometimes you just have to look at the man in the mirror and think how will I know if I keep suppressing this ‘Aha Moment’ time after time?”. The truth is, I find myself listening to the 80’s classics nine to five and all night long. It even tends to wake me up (before you go-go). Sometimes I blame it on the rain but deep down I know it’s the eternal flame of 80’s love that I have. I just hear those 80’s beats and start to (flash)dance, often I also wanna dance with somebody but the only person who will join in is Jessie’s girl. 

Alright, alright, I’m finished now. 

So yes there you go, I love 80’s music. But before I truly finish I just want to leave you all knowing that I’ve had the time of my life.

You knew it was coming, surely.

5 thoughts on “My ‘Aha Moment’

  1. Haha, I thought about blogging on 80’s music recently, too. I love the way you have done it here. I’m not sure I could top that! Although I did make a flowchart about Female Pop Anthems on Love just the other day. Feel free to check it out. It’s pink, beige and blue – so girly, you can’t miss it.

    Also: your header looks amazing. What beautiful simplicity and use of space. My inner would-be graphic designer applauds.

  2. Pingback: 15 Things You Didn’t Realise Everyone Else Does Too | Write And Day

  3. Most of the people don’t know what I listen to-mostly cause it’s far removed from mainstream anything. I love swing and jazz(not too bad, right?) and I love kpop, and I totally love the swing thing going on in kpop right now. I think it’s great and I literally have to get up and dance or at least set my foot tapping when I hear these couple of songs I’m addicted to right now. And I didn’t really realise I liked swing before I listened to kpop. So weird, right? Those who know about this are mostly fellow netizens and no one I know ‘in real life’.

    -The Ace

  4. Pingback: Welcome to 2015! | Write And Day

Join the Conversation!

