An Open Letter to Open Letters

Dear Open Letters, 

Or may I call you Letty? I feel like we have become good friends now. In my seemingly never-ending endeavour to find blog topics, I have often fallen upon your clever words of wisdom. It seems that I often find myself delighted at the sight of you scrolling by in my blog feed. So I do thank you for that, however, I also have some other things I would like to discuss with you.

Firstly, I really think you could shorten your name from ‘Open Letter’ to simply ‘Letter’ (although Letty does have a nice ring to it). I suggest this simply due to the fact that you are mostly found on the internet, a public sphere, thus I feel it is already in your nature to be ‘open’ without having to state so. I am certainly not saying that you have to, just a suggestion. 

Secondly, I have to admit that whenever I read your previously mentioned words of wisdom, I always have that same voice in my head. It seems that no matter your author I just always imagine you being read out by Sir Ian McKellen. Every time I begin, I can’t help but picturing Mr McKellen sitting quietly at his desk, reading you off a perfectly aged scroll, written with the quill of an eagle. So I apologise if you in fact have no resemblance to this figment of my imagination.  

Lastly, I would just like to inform you that although I read pages and pages of you, this will be the last Open Letter I write. This is mostly due to the fact that I’m not very good at it. Who knows, maybe I will start to branch out and drag myself away from the ‘Open Letter’ tags, and into other aspects of the blogger-verse…

Nevertheless, I don’t think that this is goodbye, merely farewell.

Lots of love,

Yours sincerely,

Write and Day

One thought on “An Open Letter to Open Letters

Join the Conversation!

